Affirmation

Affirmation:  All my needs are met on time and in abundance.

So one morning last week, Wednesday, maybe Thursday, I walked into the bagel shop where I buy my jalapeno bagel and a cup of coffee fairly regularly, alright, regularly, and as I walked in the door I spotted a man at a table. His coffee was steaming, and there was a mostly-eaten muffin on the table. It looked like blueberry. Between his foot and the wall was a bag, and his foot was resting against the bag as if to protect it.

His clothes were not clean, but he was neatly dressed and his shirt was tucked in.

The man had a kind looking face. Perhaps it is because he was asleep. Perhaps he is simply a kind man. A kind-faced man, fast asleep in a bagel shop. And then I saw it.

As I was placing my order, another man, a decade or so older than me, came into the shop. He stopped and looked at the sleeping gentleman with a “get a job you lazy bum” sort of snarl on his face. He then looked at me for assent and confirmation that the sleeping man was a no-good bum. I ignored the surly man and continued with my order.

“…and would you do me a favor?” I asked.

“Sure, what’s that?”

“Would you please make sure that the man who is asleep at that table gets a plain bagel and peanut butter on the side before he leaves?” I spoke quietly so as not to let the stranger know what I was doing.

The clerk knew what I meant and went about getting the order together. Out of the corner of my eye I could see the surly man realize my plan, and honest to God, I felt his energy shift from contempt to understanding. Long story short, the clerk gave me my order, put the second order aside for later and gave me my total. I paid him with a ten dollar bill and dropped a dollar in the tip jar and then dropped in the eighty-six cents change as a thank you. It was my last ten dollar bill for a few days, but that didn’t matter. I can make my own breakfast in a pinch. Because I have a kitchen and a refrigerator, a toaster oven, and everything I need to feed myself on a regular basis. And then some.

I think you know where I’m headed here, but I’ll finish the story anyway. Before I could pack up my wallet and take out my keys, the older man, who had once worn contempt on his face, was putting a dollar in the tip jar. I don’t think he realized that he hadn’t placed his order yet.

I left the place in tears. I don’t tell you this story to brag about what a generous or kind person I am. In fact, I am a far distance from standard with a lot of catching up to do. I’m telling you this because of what happened to me.

In those few moments in the bagel shop, what was once my affirmation that I declare with a confident voice and quaking heart, became a humble prayer of gratitude. All my needs are met, on time, and in abundance. Thank you, thank you, and thank you.

Haven’t seen either of the two men again. May they both go in peace.

6 Comments

  1. mildred bauer said,

    April 13, 2015 at 4:03 pm

    Dear Andrea, You are the most compassionate person of spiritual depth whom I know, and your eloquence is a wonderful gift. Thank you for sharing your bagel experience!! Love, Millie (Everett felt this way, too.)

    • April 13, 2015 at 4:39 pm

      Thank you, Millie. We learn from our examples, and I am glad to say that you and Everett have been an example for me for years and years.

  2. Nancy said,

    April 13, 2015 at 7:00 pm

    Gratitude is the greatest step toward wisdom is what I was always taught as a child. I just told you recently that I always think of you as wise. Here’s another example. Love you. N

  3. jill said,

    April 13, 2015 at 7:28 pm

    What a beautiful story! Thanks so much for sharing. Gratitude- Get it Going!!!


Leave a Reply

