I’ll Make the Popcorn

So I was almost hit by a car tonight while out on my walk.  No worries, though.  It was only TT coming home from a girls’ high school basketball game.  No harm done.  He said he didn’t see me, because he noticed my car in the driveway, realized that I had gotten home from going to hug a friend at the visiting hours for her grandfather’s funeral, and he was thinking that he was glad to see that I was home.

Wouldn’t that have been a mess?  Glad to see me home, and then thunk!  Oops, sorry honey.  Bummer.  I wouldn’t even be able to stand by his side as he faced the vehicular homicide charges, because I’d be dead.  And then his insurance premiums would run sky high, and that would be a drag too.  Not to mention the guilt, and having to tell JT.  Shudder twice.  May neither of us ever even come close to experiencing anything like it again.

That aside, since that little ditty happened a couple of hours ago, just as I was starting out on my walk, literally in front of my own home, it gave me a little something to think about while walking.  Ah, life’s little gifts.

I think it was Norman Vincent Peale who suggested that when we’re feeling overburdened with our business problems or feeling like we have too many responsibilities in life to take a walk through a cemetery and notice all of the grave stones.  From his perspective, it’s a great way to remind ourselves that life goes on.  To me that truth is both comforting and cruel.  I recalled how I accused the sun of having a lot of nerve to rise the morning after my mother died, 23 years ago.  And how dare those people drive by my house on their way to work as if nothing had happened!   But, on the other hand, life did go on without her.

And it occurred to me that if the awful thing had happened tonight, right in front of my own house, there would be people in my own neighborhood of only 16 houses who wouldn’t hear the news, and not even notice something was amiss, ever.

What does that say about us?

Maybe it’s time for us to watch “It’s a Wonderful Life” again.  I’ll make the popcorn! Who wants butter?

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Casoly said,

    December 13, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Wow. I’m glad you are ok. What a scare though. I don’t know what that says about us, well maybe I do, but I don’t know how we can fix it. For now, I’ll take that movie, some popcorn, and yes butter please! xo

  2. Chris DuPont said,

    December 13, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Love “It’s a Wonerfrl Life.”
    Love butter on my popcorn.
    And love that you are okay…whew!


Leave a Reply

