A Felled Friend

A felled friend will be sorely missed this spring.

Our flowering crab tree, lovely and reliable, had greeted April for longer than my own life by exploding with thousands upon thousands of lush pink blossoms, and it would grace our side yard with its beauty for about two weeks before it would leaf out and offer some gentle shade from the morning sun.

For the past three or four years though, this old friend of mine proferred fewer blossoms, and while still lush, I could see that it was struggling, fighting off some sort of disease, and finally this fall I could feel, almost, its request to be put out of its misery.  So I had to make the call.

On the morning that the landscaper was due to arrive, chain saw in hand, anyone driving my my house on would have seen a woman, middle aged, head bowed, hand gently resting on the rough bark.  Perhaps they thought they saw some tears on her face, her lips moving as if in prayer.  They did. It was me, saying goodbye to my favorite tree

4 Comments

  1. darcie said,

    March 3, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Oh Andrea, I love that line, “had greeted April for longer than my own life.”
    I’m sorry to hear about your tree.

    Your post reminds me of one of my favorite poems. It’s also about a felled tree…but the tree is felled halfway through the poem, and she keeps going, and nearly, almost resurrects it… http://www.bradley.edu/poet/breadandsteeltext/Kelly.htm

  2. Chris said,

    March 4, 2010 at 2:48 am

    That was a lovely tribute to your fallen tree.

  3. filigreegirl said,

    March 4, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Thank you, Darcie. I will take your comment with me.

  4. filigreegirl said,

    March 4, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Thank you, Chris. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog posts.


Leave a Reply

