Frozen Surprises

I searched my freezer for pesto this week.

Sad but true, there wasn’t any left, so this summer I’ll have to be sure to grow extra basil for making a few batches and freeze them in small containers for next winter’s blues.  I love pesto.  Summer in February.  And growing my own basil rather than buying it helps to redeem the investment in really good olive oil.

What I did find in the freezer, which I had squirreled away and forgotten, was the rhubarb.  Aha! Rhubarb is one of those love-it-or-hate-it foods.  I should think it would be hard tolerate by those who have a strong sense of sour taste.  I personally like to pucker (no further information on this puckering subject is currently available), so given the right proportion of sugar to fruit, rhubarb is more than a food; it can be a sensation.

And, it’s easy to grow – just plant some and you can almost watch it develop day by day, it thrives  in many growing conditions, it likes cool weather, and it is very E-A-S-Y to use.  No peeling, just trim off the leaf, which is toxic by the way, a quick wash, some evenly sliced pieces and it’s ready to play.  Since the rhubarb I had in the freezer had already been washed and cut, by the time my oven was preheated, I had a rhubarb crisp assembled and ready to bake.  With some vanilla ice cream on top, a homey comforting Saturday dessert awaits.

When is the last time you had rhubarb?

Yum.

6 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    February 20, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Rhubarb. Honestly?…never. :O

    I’m sure you’re getting the jist that I don’t try too many new foods! My track record isn’t good…I try, I do not like…I try, I do not like. I pretty much just stick to what I know I DO like!

    Now Pesto on the other hand…nope, haven’t tried that either. 😉

  2. Andrea Twombly said,

    February 20, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Get thyself to an Italian restaurant and try something with Pesto – post haste! You wont’ be sorry.

  3. dedennigan said,

    February 21, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    Ha- your freezer has much nicer surprises than mine. Between yesterday’s great weather and your post, I am so hungry for summer foods…

  4. aRaS said,

    February 23, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    I love PESTO! If someone asks my friends about my eating habits and food choices, the answer from ALL of them is going to be; mozzarella with PESTO or pasta with PESTO … 😉
    However, to be honest I am not sure if I’ve ever tried “rhubarb” before.

  5. February 25, 2010 at 3:57 am

    Can’t believe you are talking about pesto! I make it in the summer and freeze it in ice cube trays and then pop them out and put them in zip locks. I have enough for one more meal and just thought the same thing. I have to make more for next year. Nothing like homemade pesto. I have to try that rhubarb Sounds too yummy as in strawberry rhubarb pie? Right?

    • February 25, 2010 at 1:49 pm

      Ha! Great minds, Cynthia. I do like strawberry rhubarb pie, but I think with too many strawberries it can become too sweet for my palate, so I’ll throw in only one or two strawberries if I add them at all. For the rhubarb crisp I just use the same topping as I would use for apple crisp with the addition of a little more flour to offset the moisture put out by the rhubarb. Just had a thought to try pear crisp….hmmm.


Leave a Reply

