Sprouted Seeds

What was that? 

Although I have known it to be true forever, it just occurred to me like I heard it for the first time that there will be no going back.  We progress forward for good or bad, and time wasted is just that.  So what am I to do with an age in years more beyond fifty than I want to admit and a whole new life to live?  

There is a seed in me that has germinated and wants to grow.  She doesn’t know age or time.  She knows only that she has sprouted and must either grow or die.  She trusts me, or she wouldn’t be tapping me on the shoulder and urging me to take up my pen and write. 

It is up to me to decide the fate of this new sprout.  No, I’m not with child, at least not in the biological sense, but there is the spirit of a young woman in this skin and she’s eager to fly. 

Today she told me this:  Regret serves us nothing.  It merely feeds the monster called bitterness.  

I like her way of thinking.  Eyes forward.  No stopping this time.

9 Comments

  1. kcecelia said,

    December 28, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    There is the spirirt of a wise woman in your skin, which is better than a young woman. You can do whatever you set out to do. Go do it. I am with you.

  2. Emily said,

    December 29, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Please do continue to send us these postcards and let us know about your/her adventures!

  3. December 29, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Thank you, both. Wise? We’ll see how it turns out.

  4. zencherry said,

    April 30, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Just beautiful! I love the way your words flow. 😀

  5. Nancy said,

    June 20, 2012 at 6:15 am

    Your evolving perspective and wisdom pours through your writing. Keep it up…it’s a gift to all of us.

  6. Deb t said,

    August 8, 2012 at 10:37 am

    Andrea, so glad I decided to check out you blog. Your writing is inspiring and heartwarming!!

    • August 8, 2012 at 1:23 pm

      Thank you, Deb. I wish I could get out of my own way and do more of it, but have to be grateful for what does come this way.


Leave a comment